Tags

, ,

Day 21 writing prompt: Playtime – Do you play in your daily life?  What says “playtime” to you?

The Importance of Play

More often that I would like to admit, I fall into the trap of not believing I have enough play in my life.  As the article above mentions,  our society tends to dismiss play for adults. Play is perceived as unproductive, petty or even a guilty pleasure. The notion is that once we reach adulthood, it’s time to get serious. And between personal and professional responsibilities, there’s no time to play.

Could it be that I have been defining play wrong all of these years?  Have I been too literal with its meaning?  Maybe if I stop looking at play as something that “needs” to be done, but instead of something I “want” to do, will it become easier to play?

Could play simply be something that brings me joy?  For me, that sounds like:

  • Laughing and spending time with my family
  • Sidewalk chalk
  • Becoming lost in music
  • Reading a book
  • Running and yoga
  • Laying under the stars
  • Basking in the sun
  • Exploring

Maybe this is the missing link.  Play is any activity engaged in for enjoyment and recreation.  Nothing more, nothing less.

Any time you think play is a waste, remember that it offers some serious benefits for both you and others. As Brown says in his book, “Play is the purest expression of love.”

img_brene_lssn2_download1_cultivating

