Tags

Day 19 writing prompt Safety First: Share the story of a time you felt unsafe.

It was a cold morning, I rolled over in bed and looked beside me. There lay my daughter, sound asleep. She had crawled in bed with me sometime in the dark of the night…her hair still tied back in a bun from gymnastics the day before, she was snoring gracefully as the sun peeked in the window.

I cautiously rolled over and tried to climb out of bed. But that didn’t work. She felt the movement of the bed as I tried to leave but she  sat straight up saying to me “where are you going Mama?”  I replied, “go back to sleep baby,” but it was too late.

She leaned over and smiled and looked at me as if to say “are you going to get up and get my hot chocolate anytime soon?” I looked at her as if to say “no go get it yourself,” and thus our day began.

It was supposed to be a quiet day, a day of relaxation, a day of getting ready for the rest of the week. But instead my daughter chose to fling her feet over the top of the covers and said “Mommy, look at my toes.”  “Sweetheart what’s wrong with your toes?”  “My little toe is all pointy.”  “Well sweetheart, it’s a very cute toe, and yes it’s a very pointy toe.”  

And that’s when it hit me, my daughter’s toes had no names. I started thinking immediately about Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs. Each of the seven dwarfs had a name, Sleepy, Grumpy, Bashful, but my daughters toes were namelesd. And I begin to fear what would happen if my daughters toes remained nameless. So we sat there together, looking at each and every toe, msking sure they all had names. Then to make sure we never forgot the names of those toes we labeled each and every one. 

And with that,  we save the day, there was no fear, we both felt safe, we both knew that the day would turn out great. 

Teeny’s toes have names.

Welcome to our family…Teeny’s 10 Toes.

