Tags

,

Day 12 writing prompt:  Non-regional diction.  Write about whatever you’d like, but write using regional slang, your dialect, or in your accent.

Growing up in Ohio, these words were simply a part of who were are, the words we spoke.  The faces and looks people gave me when I moved to Virginia many years ago, you would have thought I was speaking a foreign language.

  • Pop; that fizzy things we call soda.
  • Warsh; that’s what we did to our clothes
  • The sweeper was that thing we used to clean the carpet
  • Sneakers were those sporting shoes we wore on our feet to gym class

But nowadays I find a whole new vernacular taking form…with my children…and it isn’t always the words and phrases that they use, but the emoj.  Each day I treasure the heart and hug emoji’s my daughter leaves on my phone. Talk about a whole new language…LOL!

Luckily, we are still in the land of simplicity and innocence even though every once and  while I hear my eldest daughter say to her younger sister…”whatevs” and the other night I was jokingly told to “chillax.”

Change… it created the past, defines the present and influences the future.  My language and the language of my children will continue to evolve and the responsibility that I  believe I have as parents is to honor the past, be present in the future and be willing to evolve to the language of the future.  The beauty of language, whether it is written or spoken, conveys the feelings and beliefs of the human spirit.

To my children, I leave you with this:

I will speak the words “I love you”

I will type the words “I ❤ you”

I will write the words “I love you”

And I will text you this:

emoji

 

 

 

