Tags

,

Day 4 writing topic: Intense.  Describe the last time you were surprised by the intensity of a feeling you had about something, or were surprised at how strongly you reacted to something you thought wouldn’t be a big deal.

Last night.  As I fell asleep, the only thought that rambled through my mind was…”Sticks and stones may break my bones but names will never hurt me is such a crock of sh*t.”

I try to be tough in the face of adversity, but sometimes that toughness is pierced so sharply that the wind from my sails is simply blown away.

 

It took a long run to feel normal.  It took taking my frustration out on a hill that has often challenged me (the hill did not get the best of me today).  It took looking internally.  It took a deep breath.  It took calming words.  It took the laughter of my children.

