Tags

, , ,

Each morning I get ready to step out the door for work, the pitter-patter of little feet are following me.  After kisses and a big hug from my youngest, I am literally pushed out the door.  Only to join in the back and forth of:

Bye mom

Bye sweetheart

I love you

I love you too sweetie

Bye

Bye

I love you

I love you too sweetie.

I pull out of the garage and drive up in front of the house. There she is, standing there with her beautiful toothy grin, waving goodbye, saying “I love you.”  -My day would not be the same without this precious ritual.

And after a long day at work, I look forward to tucking my daughters in at night because night’s wouldn’t be the same without our evening ritual.  I lean over and plant “rapid kisses” over my youngest daughter’s face.  She in turn gently showers me with “baby kisses.”  The softest-to-the-touch kisses from a child to her mother.

I lean over to my oldest who is chattering about the day (she becomes so very conversational at bedtime and her mind is racing a mile a minute.)  As I lean over to her, she sits up and wraps her arms tightly around me as we whisper I love yous.  I crawl onto the foot of the bed or curl up in the chair next to the bed to hear 2-3 minutes later, “Mommy, I can’t get to sleep.”

“Sweetheart, it’s only been a few minutes since you laid down.”

“Ok, but promise me you will check on me before you leave.”

“I promise you sweetheart, I will do this every night.”

When life becomes hectic it takes only a minute to become grounded by simply looking at life’s little moments.  Those little moments that will be so dearly missed when my children grow up. I am comforted in knowing that life will always present new little moments…I just need to look.

little moments

