Tags

, , , ,

The fog was thick outside this morning as I rolled towards work; thank goodness the fog had lifted from my brain! These past few weeks have felt like I was living in a state of disarray; words appear in my brain but somewhere between the grey matter and my vocal chords, they hit a detour and never make it back on the highway. Lost forever on the road less traveled. Though that is the road I wish I was traveling on in a literal sense more often.

Surprisingly to me, the Land of Nod held a firm grip on me last night. I had fears of waking up in the middle of the night, ravenous enough to eat an entire bag of Spicy Thai Kettle Chips (which are taunting me in the kitchen pantry as I type) only to find myself curled up in a ball of chip crumbs and drool when my children saunter downstairs to get ready for school. Thank goodness that didn’t happen, talk about my children having blackmail evidence against me for the next several years!

So, welcome Day 2. The one difference I have noticed which started yesterday, is a heightened sense of awareness and sensitivity. I’m still trying to determine if it is just my inability to stay focused on something for any long period of time, or have I developed keen dog-like senses? If my tail starts wagging today, I guess I will know the answer to that question!

8:18 a.m. Happy day and back at work. Juice #1 has been consumed (still swear there is chocolate essence in that bottle) and I am off and running; not literally but there is a spring in my step!

10:35 a.m. Pleasantly surprised by the energy I have. Small dull ache above my right eye, but I made it through the morning without even considering my warm toasted G-free pita with spicy red pepper hummus! Could I be well on my way to being a “Breatharian?” Whoa, moment of insanity there…this chick LOVES food WAY TOO MUCH to ever consider, but maybe, just maybe, this is a way to wean me off of those tempting chocolates that sit on my bosses desk. BAM…Juice #2 down the trap!

2:50 p.m. I am amazed at how little I have thought of food; except when my husband was making a big salad, or when my daughters had a popsicle, or when my youngest decided to crunch on ice cubes. O.k. maybe I do think about food, and when I am hungry, I go for a lemon water or tea, but this is completely doable! I even forgot to write about Juice #3 today and Juice #4 is available in 10 short minutes!
The other thing I have noticed today is that my mind is very calm. Normally I feel like I am on the receiving end of a fire hose and can’t find the right compartments to put all of the “stuff” that comes my way, but Day 2 is different…quieter…calmer.
calm mind

So now it is time for a treat, I took half a day off today not only anticipating today may be a bit difficult, but also to take my daughters to their end of school pool party. And we’re off!

5:05 p.m. We left the pool a bit later than I had hoped for. 2 additional water bottles, lots of sun and a quick dip in the pool left me beyond hungry especially as I sat staring at the buttery, crumbly, chewy crackers (and cheddar goldfish) my daughters nibbled on at the pool. When it was time to go, the force of my voice became just a wee bit stronger as the girls struggled to stay and I struggled to get home to my juice!

5:20 p.m. Ahh, carrot, beet, ginger, lemon juice never tasted so good. The minute we got home I nursed the juice and chicklets tore off across the street to play with water balloons with the neighborhood kids. Lawn chair in the driveway never felt so good!

6:35 p.m. EPIC FAIL. That beet juice did NOT cure my hunger! To prevent Hangry Momma from surfacing, a celery stick (oh my goodness, the crunchy texture never tasted so good) was consumed and 3 bites of my daughters soup crossed my lips. The warm, soft, mushroomy soup. Oh why am I being so dramatic, it was hardly an epic fail. It was a necessity and I am fine with that.

8:00 p.m. Getting the children ready for bed nursing on my last juice of the evening. The creamy deliciousness of Cashew Milk. Has it been a rough day? No, by no stretch of the means. Did I encounter some grumbles and headaches? Mildly but tolerable. Did Hangry Momma surface? She was running down the street but was cut off at the pass. Is today a success? Absolutely.
success

