Tags

, , , ,

I smiled as I woke up this morning. I juice every day, but today starts a full-on 3 Day Blue Print Cleanse. Time for a re-boot and the hope that “Hangry Momma” doesn’t become too unbearable! My olderst daughter already chased me around the house before I left chanting “Hangry, Hangry…” Will that be the word that defines the cleanse?

7:30 a.m. It was quite appropriate that on Day 1 of my juice cleanse the very first song on Pandora was Separate Ways by Journey. Goodbye food, I will miss you for three days.

7:45 a.m. I feel a bit like a kid in a candy store having wanted to try a cleanse for years and finally pulling the trigger! The first sip of the Juice 1 was…green…and I love green juice, but this one was…green. But funny how after several sips, it tasted like…chocolate…hmmm, is my mind telling me something already?

7:55 a.m. Still feeling like a kid in a candy store and even caught myself smiling as a I sang “Ass****” (instead of grumbling under my breath) at the nice gentleman who cut me off on my drive to work. Luckily he didn’t pull into my work, I might have had to approach him and …smile…I am on a juice cleanse and couldn’t be happier! Oh, Juice 1 done!

Property of Rebecca Baybayan

Property of Rebecca Baybayan

8:10 a.m. Computer booted up, glanced at the clock and realized that I am normally eating my breakfast right now…Warm gluten-free pita which has been toasted on the stove, slathered in hot chili pepper hummus from Whole Foods. Good God..Stop Daydreaming woman and get to work! (Oh yes, and I’m hungry right now…)

8:48 a.m. Squirrel! Found a finger nail that is slightly misshapen, need to fix that disaster.

10:07 a.m. Oh thank goodness, because I think everyone can hear my stomach growling…Juice Time! (P.A.M. – Pineapple, Apple, Mint) And holy minty aroma coming out of the bottle, YUM.

10:55 a.m. You are forewarned, this next statement may be TMI…Received a text from my husband asking how I was feeling. My response…”Project Evacuation has begun.” His response back “Oh yeah, let it rip!” The joys of a juice cleanse and a playful yet understanding spouse. And another juice down!

IMG_6361[1]

11:06 a.m. Is there NOTHING TO CHEW ON??? Thank goodness for the ice machine.

11:07 a.m. The cafeteria has opened at work. I usually eat at this time. People are eating. I am not. I just finished a juice. Not another one until 12:30. Thank goodness for water…and tea…Why is my stomach still talking to me? But on an other note, I do feel good!

11:30 a.m. Left work to attend my daughter’s Portfolio Review at school. The drive there was a gentle distraction from the conversation in my stomach. I carried my 3rd bottle of juice around like a queen on a pedestal. Feeling bad (but starving) when my daughter asked for a drink of my green juice and I turned her down. “Baby girl, momma needs her juice!”

12:35 p.m. COMPLETE SENSORY OVERLOAD. ELEMENTARY SCHOOL CAFETERIAS. NOT A GOOD PLACE WHEN HUNGRY (not quite hangry). UNABLE TO FOCUS. GIVE ME JUICE.

12:45 p.m. The still quiet of the car as I drive back to work. My heavens, where did this TIRED just come from. Must. Stay. Awake.

1:37 p.m. I feel like doing what my 3rd empty bottle of juice is doing. Can I curl up for a few minutes under my desk?
IMG_6362[1]

4:35 p.m. Thank goodness for a busy afternoon! Not too much time to think about anything but work. Juice #4 is down the drain!
IMG_6363[1]

6:48 p.m. There is nothing like curling up on the couch, even for a few minutes, with a remarkable magazine. If you have never heard of “bella Grace”, I highly recommend you check it out. Beautiful stories bordering on a book rather than a magazine. Sadly my brain would only concentrate enough to allow me one short story. My senses seem to be heightened and everything catches my attention. Squirrel…Juice 5 done, I took a picture, but a conference call needs me.

8:50 p.m. The last juice couldn’t come soon enough. As I stood over the stove making an intoxicating vegetable red curry dish for my family, I imagine several small droplets of drool escaped my mouth (and may have landed in the dish) as I lowered to absorb the aroma. Cashew Milk to the rescue!

And as I finish writing for the evening, slowing savoring every last drop of my Cashew Milk, my tummy has settled to a new normal for the day. It feels light (as does my head at times) and slightly hungry, but as of today, the “hangry” has not surfaced.

Except, my daughter just glanced over at me as I was taking the last sip and said , “Oh mommy, you look hangry.” hmmmm

Tomorrow may be a new story…

