Tags

, , , , ,

The other day, I was leafing through my Whole-hearted Journal and found myself staring at the following Brene Brown quote:

It’s easy to convince ourselves that is we stay busy enough, the truth of our lives won’t catch up to us

While I could have read it to mean, “If I just stay busy enough, and look important enough, those uncomfortable life moments that I know I should attend to will go away,” I chose to interpret it as this:

When you have the courage to say no, stop and thank yourself, for you may have just saved yourself from giving less than your best.

I try to remind myself every day that it is alright to say no (and after all this practice, it still isn’t easy!)  It is alright to know my own limitations.  It is alright that my limitations are in a different place than yours.  It is alright to know that when I choose to say yes, I will be able to give my best.

No matter where you are in your life, no matter what you do, know your limitations and the truth of your own, very personal life.

 

