Tags

, , ,

It was definitely past time for a haircut.  But the hot, muggy summer asked for nothing more of my hair than a simple slick-back into a bun.  And so it stayed, peacefully, unfazed by the calls to the hairdresser, looking for a date that would work to bring my hair back to life.

My daughters had a different thought for my hair though.  On television and in magazines, they see the ever-present long haired fashionistas gracing covers and spotlights on TV.  They asked if I would please grow my hair long again, apparently long hair is a sign of beauty and pride (and what’s in style).  It made me wonder…What is it about long hair? Is it the time that it takes to grow the long locks that make it a prized possession?  Is it the versatility to have straight locks on day and waves or a updo the next? What about the short-haired and medium-haired styles as well?  Why do they not seem get the same respect as the long locks?

So here is where my life lesson came to be.  I walked in the house this evening and my youngest came running up to greet me.  “Mommy, you’re home!” is what I normally hear.  Today I hear “Mommy, you cut your hair!”  “Lauren, Mommy cut her hair!”  (I’m still not sure what she is thinking at this time, and she is still staring at me.  And yes, my hair has been cut like this many times…)

In comes my eldest daughter and says “Mom, you cut your hair, do you like it?”  And my simple answer to her was , “Yes, I like it and I feel beautiful!”  Lauren looks and me and says “I’m glad you like it mom and you are beautiful.”  –followed by a generous hug!

These precious conversations we have about beauty go much deeper than what I can explain here, but to talk about external beauty with a 5 and 8 year old, warrants talking about the power of inner beauty and the belief in oneself.  It warrants talking with (not at) my children about standing up for what what they believe in, not what others expect them to believe in.  It is conversations about making your own choice and being proud of it, not about making a choice because of someone else’s opinion.  It is about being a strong, confident young lady, not afraid to be who you want to be, not what others think you should be.

Each day presents us with the simplest of scenarios, all of which can be powerful life lessons for us and our children, provided we embrace these opportunities and take the time to reflect of what life is trying to teach us.

I am a a big fan of Experience Life magazine and their 101 Revolutionary Ways to be Healthy.  I am reminded today of Number 2 – Buck Trends.  “Just because it’s popular doesn’t mean its smart or good for you. Enlist in fellow trend setter and create a trend of your own.”

Today, I fully embrace and own my short hair.  Today I fully embrace letting “me” shine through. Today I fully embrace being able to share precious life lessons with my daughters.

Property of Rebecca Baybayan

Property of Rebecca Baybayan

 

