Tags

,

O.k. I love pizza!  But wheat and heavy cheese do not love me.  Achy hands and a stuffy nose are just not worth it.

After spending over a month in Denver and indulging in Udi’s kale pizza, my husband came home and made me his version of the pizza.  He made me his exquisite, delicious, mouth-watering, none-better-than-his, kale pizza. I must admit, I traveled to Denver the last week of April and had to try Udi’s pizza myself,  I may be a bit biased, buy my husbands ROCKED!

Tonight he is traveling and as Friday night begins, my daughters want their “red-sauce” pasta (luckily their red-sauce is the same sauce for my pizza so, I present to you:  OMG Kale Pizza

Ingredients

1 1/2T. EVOO

1 small yellow onion, diced

3 cloves of garlic, diced

4 button portabello mushrooms (2 diced and 2 sliced)

1 Udi’s Gluten-free crust (or crust of your choice)

1 can organic tomato sauce

1/8 c Parmesan cheese, plus pinch of grated Parmesan cheese

2 stalks of organic kale

pinch of Celtic or himalayan sea salt

Truffle Oil

Directions:

Pre-heat 425 degree oven.

Pour EVOO in a sautee pan on medium high heat.  Sautee diced onions, garlic and the 2 diced mushrooms.  Add a dash of salt and sautee until onions are translucent.

Add 1 can of tomato sauce, 2 sliced mushrooms and Parmesan cheese to the sauteed vegetables and simmer on low heat until the sauce thickens.

Place pizza crust on a baking sheet, drizzle truffle over top and add tomato sauce.  Top (heavily) with kale, a pinch of Parmesan cheese and drizzle again with Truffle oil.

Bake to your liking ( I like my crust and kale crispy) in a 425 degree oven.  (I cook mine for 12-15 minutes)

And of course, pour a glass of wine and savor every last delicious bite.

OMG Kale Pizza

OMG Kale Pizza

