Tags

, , , , ,

One thing my little girls ask for at the store are fruit roll-ups. There are times where I may buy them, depending on the ingredients, but when I was little girl, my grandfather made us a dehydrator. He was a carpenter and ever since we had the joy and experience of making our own fruit roll-ups, dried fruit and other amazingly kid-friendly recipes, I have longed to make my own with my daughters.

Luckily, Christmas changed that! My dehydrator has been getting daily use, especially on the weekends, as we try many of the recipes from book Going Raw by Judita Wignall.

But today, since I have a little sick one at home who wanted some fruit, we decided to make our own fruit roll-ups. Here is our recipe:

2 apples, cut into 8 pieces each (I left the skin on; great nutrients there)
1/2 c. frozen blackberries, raspberries and blueberry mixture
1″ piece of fresh ginger

Place all ingredients into a high speed blender and puree until smooth and the consistency of applesauce.

Using a dehydrator, cover the tray with plastic wrap if you don’t have the solid tray. Smooth the puree out to about 1/8″ thick and place in dehydrator at 135 degrees until the top is shiny and the consistency is pliable.

Peel off and enjoy! I can’t provide you with any storage recommendations as our was eaten right away! You can see from the happy face here!

Fruit roll-up

