Tags

, , , , ,

It’s never any fun when one of my children comes down with a bug, especially when it is right before the holiday season. On my quest to purge all health and beauty supplies that are not all natural, I came across a recipe from Crunchy Betty who made a Homemade Vapor Rub.
I was one of those kids who when under the weather with a respiratory problem, would be slathered head to foot in Vick’s Vapor Rub. I loved the smell and how it opened my sinuses, but now a days, don’t appreciate the ingredients.

So last week on a homemade Christmas present binge, I made the rub (secretly hoping I didn’t have to use it for anyone in the family). As those thoughts were sent out into the universe, they must have ended us somewhere (not over the rainbow but in a sinister germ bugs lair) because my oldest daughter came down with a cold and stuffy nose.
sick

The good news is, I had an AHAA moment! Secretly stashed away in the medicine cabinet was the home made rub. I gave my daughter a “whiff” of it and she happily let me rub it on her chest. As she inhaled deeply, she breathed a sigh of “Ahhh…”. Mom did good.

If it fancies you to try out making your own vapor rub, to protect yourself and your loved ones from the harms of chemicals, you won’t go wrong with this recipe.

My other recommendation is to use Sweet Almond Oil as a carrier and add a drop of Native American Nutritionals Breathe Easy Essential Oil and rub it to the bottom of the feet of a stuffy family member. Works like a charm!
feet

Please check out Crunchy Betty’s link above, and enjoy a sniffle-free holiday!

