Tags

, , , , ,

If you are interested in leadership, I recommend a blog called GreatLeadershipbyDan. I have been following him for years, as my career has been in leadership development.

His blog this morning really struck a chord in me. It made me twinge, because it was true.

Not knowing yet where this comes from, I have striven towards #perfection most of my life. I have felt it was what I needed to do and that all eyes were on me and my results.

Here is a brief excerpt from the blog this morning which had me ask myself; of all that I do, can I walk away at the end of the day and be proud of my actions (not perfected, but how I lived my life today…big difference).

In her beloved book Bird by Bird, Anne Lamott writes,

Perfectionism is the voice of the oppressor, the enemy of the people. It will keep you cramped and insane your whole life . . . I think perfectionism is based on the obsessive belief that if you run carefully enough, hitting each stepping-stone just right, you won’t have to die. The truth is that you will die anyway and that a lot of people who aren’t even looking at their feet are going to do a whole lot better than you, and have a lot more fun while they’re doing it.

Perfectionists want the world to believe that they’re so self-aware that they can do everything flawlessly if given the proper amount of time. But perfectionists aren’t self-aware; they’re self-absorbed. They think everyone is looking at them all the time, and they can’t afford to mess up.

But here’s a reality check: people are too busy with the junk in their own heads to dwell on you or me. The people around us aren’t keeping a running tab of when we fail and when we succeed. I don’t care what lies you’ve been telling yourself, let’s say this loud and clear for the record: It’s impossible to do things perfectly. Perfection does not exist! No matter who you are, there will always be someone smarter, prettier, more talented. There will always be a better time and a better place. That’s not a bad roll of the dice; that’s reality. So stop trying to meet everyone else’s expectations by putting on a show. Instead, take a look at the man in the glass. Are your actions ones you can be proud of?

