Tags

, , , , ,

I recently traveled from Dulles to Boise, through Chicago and decided to take a food challenge. Eating predominately vegan, I figured it would be a bit difficult to continue my food journey. So here is what I found.

Dulles Airport: Found some water which was more expensive than a can of soda by a 2:1 margin. The dry roasted almonds were plentiful, but not too much else in the way of a lunch or dinner on the run.

Chicago Airport: To my surprise, I found a food court that had “fresh, make-your-own salads.” I decided to take them up on the offer. Since the salad came with iceberg lettuce, I asked for the spring mix only to find out that they changed an extra $1.50 for the “good stuff.” The lady asked me what meat I wanted and I politely declined, but asked for a double scoop of the beans, only to be met with a “hmmmph”??? Was I really supposed to take the meat instead of the beans? Salad complete and off to the register to pay. What puzzled me upon paying was how upside down the food industry is. For a healthful salad, I had to pay $11.00. But I turned around and grabbed a large slice of greasy cheese pizza and a soda, I could have walked out of there paying a mere $3.95.

Boise Airport: Water was plentiful, but still at a price of more than that of its sugary confection, the soda.

Our pricing structure is reversed, in stores, in restaurants and in airports. What action can we take to help shift this paradigm?

