Tags

, , , , , ,

I was eating a Clif Bar yesterday afternoon and happened to glance down at the package. On most days, what I read on the packaging is the ingredient list, but yesterday I was caught up reading about Gary, the Founder and Owner of Clif Bar & Company, and his European bike trip.

For me, European bike trips have never been about riding from Point A to Point B. My buddies and I far prefer the explorative method of riding. Rather than being blown off the bigger “red roads” by the noise and dust of passing semis, we seek out the serenity and quiet of remote alpine valleys on the smaller “while roads” – views of massive rock faces and glaciers at every turn. We carried road bikes on our shoulders over high mountain passes, slid down vast glaciers along side our bicycles, and stumbled upon more quaint villages that I can count.
As with our cycling epics, it is the winding road – not the destination – that drives Clif Bar. It’s a simpler, more rewarding style of riding – and doing business. From our people, to our products, to our planet, it is the smaller “white road” that we choose to travel.

It is the winding road, not the destination.

Do I live by this motto or do I let life pass me by?

Do I choose to seek out serenity or do I let myself get caught in the notion that I have to drive hard?

Do I make a mountain out of a mole hill or pause before reacting?

These are all valid questions I started to ask myself. And you know what, it felt kind of weird pondering life questions as a result of the packaging of a Clif Bar, but that wrapper is still sitting right here in front of me. I haven’t thrown it away, and each time I look down at it, a small pause occurs.

Clif

No, I don’t always live by the motto of just enjoying life instead of letting it pass me by.

No, I don’t always choose serenity. I do allow myself to drive hard and believe that I need to strive for perfection.

Yes, I do make mountains out of mole hills and I don’t always pause before reacting.

But aren’t we all on a journey, following a beautiful winding road and sometimes getting to the next winding road means jumping on the expressway for a few exits? Does the realization of being on the expressway count? I believe so.

These small reminders are what help me jump off the expressway one exit earlier. They remind me that life is to be enjoyed and savored, not driven through like a snowplow in a blizzard.So if I could share one thing with each of you; I am making the pledge for the next 4 days, to get off the expressway, to enjoy the quaint villages, and to not carry the world on my shoulders. Will you do the same?

