Tags

, , , , , ,

beet

Beets…purple, canned, sliced, chain restaurant salad bars, stained fingers. That is all I have ever known of the common garden beet; the Beta Vulgaris. Vulgaris…vulgar…well, that is another thought I once had of the common garden beet. But notice how I said “once.”

I was asked recently to experiment with beets as in one of my nutrition module. Apparently the vegetable is pretty good at aiding the liver. So on sunny Sunday afternoon, we headed to Global Foods (after a delicious Indian dinner) and found an abundance of beets packaged neatly is bunches of 3’s just waiting for me.

Back home and with a pot of water boiling on the stove the beets washed and trimmed, off they went into their 25 minute bubble bath. (Depending on the size of your beets, they may take more or less time to cook. Beets are ready when they are able to be pierced with a fork. Also note, no bubble bath was used in the cooking of the beets.)

They will be hot to the touch, but the outer skin comes off so easy when right out of the boiling water.

From here, the culinary experimentation began. I decided to thinly slice the beets. Now keep in mind, beets can be messy and juicy, so it wise not to be wearing your Sunday best. Plus, the added benefit of slicing beets without gloves…free nail and finger polish. Hello Beet Piggy Polish!

With the thinly sliced beets laid on a dish, I simply drizzled Extra Virgin Olive Oil over them and took my first home cooked beet bite. Were they good? Beets are now a staple in our house. Curious about other health benefits of the beet and how they can be prepared? Check out Heinerman’s Encyclopedia of Healing Juices

